Working title: Mandazi Tarot

For me, getting creative is the best way to burn off any excess emotion; latest project involves a sketchbook, graphite and blending sticks (as I did not graduate art school, I don’t know what the proper term for them would be).

 

I read tarot cards for shits and giggles, have since high school. When doing a reading on a certain topic, I kept getting the same cards, but in different configurations. So, using what I kept getting in my readings, I started sketching out my take on various tarot cards haunting me.

 

 

First off, The Wheel of Fortune. In the Visconti tarot (my deck) it is shown as a wheel with the different phases of age around the perimeter. I wasn’t feeling it. For me, the Wheel of Fortune I drew is a reminder that the journey is as important as the destination.

The end workings of destiny, a turn for the better.  The result of past actions.

The end workings of destiny, a turn for the better. The result of past actions.

 

Next, we have the ever-popular Death card.  Visconti shows a full skeleton (I don’t draw skeletons, not yet anyhow) wielding a scythe. I figured having Death stare you in the face is just as scary.

Transformation, change which is a blessing in disguise. A clearing out which will make some way for something better. Harsh fate that does not considered personal feelings. Very rarely does it signify death; more usually it means a major change in life.

Transformation, change which is a blessing in disguise. A clearing out which will make some way for something better. Harsh fate that does not considered personal feelings. Very rarely does it signify death; more usually it means a major change in life.

 

Here’s the Empress card. I’ve never been keen on drawing the human figure (probably why I went to art school to study photography…) but I’m rather pleased with the result. Still working on this sketch’s shading.

abundance, material, and domestic comfort. Security. it is a maternal card so it may indicate childbirth, motherhood, nurturing, reassurance, & a firm foundation for future progress. associated with springtime.

abundance, material, and domestic comfort. Security. it is a maternal card so it may indicate childbirth, motherhood, nurturing, reassurance, & a firm foundation for future progress. associated with springtime.

 

Most tarot decks have the Towers as being on fire, falling apart, while people rain from the sky. I went medieval on that notion.

the breaking down of an outworn sense of values. A sudden shock that is nevertheless a blessing in disguise. Freedom from old, possibly self-imposed, restrictions. Sudden destructive change is inevitable but nothing is to be feared, since you will come through the experience a better and stronger person.

the breaking down of an outworn sense of values. A sudden shock that is nevertheless a blessing in disguise. Freedom from old, possibly self-imposed, restrictions. Sudden destructive change is inevitable but nothing is to be feared, since you will come through the experience a better and stronger person.

 

When it comes to the human figure, I generally stick to faces, female ones at that– some reason men turn up looking kinda feminine. Luckily, the High Priestess card incorporates things I’m fairly decent at drawing. As I have a neo-pagan history, I decided my High Priestess would be of the same persuasion.

Secrets are about to be revealed. Often shows a strong feminine influence and in a man's reading, can represent the most important woman in his life. The card shows mystic power, psychic ability, and the unconscious mind. Relates to memory and intuition. Rely on instincts.

Secrets are about to be revealed. Often shows a strong feminine influence and in a man’s reading, can represent the most important woman in his life. The card shows mystic power, psychic ability, and the unconscious mind. Relates to memory and intuition. Rely on instincts.

 

… Next up for me to finish are The Lovers and The Fool. Will post when done.

 

Do you read tarot? What’s your favorite deck?

 

Got something to say? Spit it out while you still can. The hounds will wait.

